What does China look like today? Here are some issues that are influencing Chinese economy, society, workers, and government.
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2014
Have a great link to share with your classmates? Submit it below and it could appear on this guide. Hooray for collaboration!
A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
Learn about different cultures from around the world including customs, languages, diet, and much more.
- Discovering Collection
Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
- EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.
Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
- Encyclopedia Britannica (Academic Edition)
Hey intellectual tough guy, is the school edition not enough for you? Then try tackling the academic edition which provides more college/university level information.
- Encyclopedia Britannica (School Edition)
The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
- Grolier Online
Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
- World Geography and Culture
This database facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
- Grim Environmental Problems in China
From the Guardian newspaper in England comes this short article presenting information about China and its growing list of environmental problems.
- World News Digest
World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
- Freedom and Human Rights in China
This page features articles about Freedom and Human Rights in China, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
- China's human rights record under scrutiny at U.N.
The UN recently scrutinized China's human rights record, as reported by USA Today.
- Article on Amnesty International's 10 Civil Rights Problems in China
This article from 2010 presents ten civil rights problems in China by Amnesty International.
- Human Rights in China and U.S. Policy
This lengthy pdf article, by Thomas Lum, specialist in Asian Affairs at the Congressional Research Services, presents an overview of Chinese Human Rights and how the U.S. should shape its policies to address what is perceived as issues.
- Article on China's Latest Attack on Free Speech
This article from the New York Post discusses censorship and free speech issue in China.
- Burmese girls 'sold as brides' in rural China
Chinese police have arrested a gang accused of selling a group of women as wives in rural China, state media says. China has more men than women as a result of the one-child policy. Rural Chinese struggle to find wives, and bride-trafficking is big business.
- U.N. Human Rights Panel Urges China to Allow Free Elections in Hong Kong
The United Nations Human Rights Committee urged China to allow elections in Hong Kong without restrictions on who can run as a candidate.
- Hong Kong's democracy debate
Hong Kong saw prolonged street protests after Beijing ruled out open nominations for the election of Hong Kong's leader in 2017. The BBC takes a look at the controversy.
- China's Communist Party weighs boosting rule of law
China's notion of rule of law differs from that in the West. The meeting comes as China's rulers seek a legal basis for government action and to enhance regime legitimacy, without permitting challenges to its authority. Yet there is also pressure to improve the court system because citizens sense they have no real recourse in a growing range of conflicts.
- China's Veil of Civil Rights Oppression
The Third Plenum, a gathering of Chinese Communist Party leaders to set economic policy, ended this month with a raft of economic and social reforms that were praised by Western observers: giving the market a greater hand in setting prices, relaxing the one-child policy, strengthening land rights and shoring up the social safety net.
- China silences anti-corruption activists
Communist Party says it wants to end corruption, but it punishes those who expose it or seek transparency in government officials.
- The end of the Hong Kong 'dream'
It used to be a place where anyone who worked hard, excelled in school and possessed an entrepreneurial spirit could rise above their parents' hardship to a better life. That was the Hong Kong dream.
Today, that dream has become a mirage -- where meritocracy is seen to be supplanted by business and political connections, where good jobs and university places are keenly contested by the mainland Chinese. Young people in Hong Kong fear they are losing out as the playing field tilts increasingly towards China.
- Urban Rural Divide, undated
This page features great graphs and maps showing the rural versus urban divide, as well as a good introduction to the issue.
- Decoding Urbanization, May 17, 2013
From China Daily newspaper, this article presents issues in urbanization and rural migration.
- Understanding the Urban Rural Divide, October 7, 2011
From Taipei News in Taiwan, this two year old article presents the challenges that face China as more people leave rural areas and move to the cities.
- Rural - Urban Divide, undated
In this pdf document, Athar Hussain of the Asia Research Center at Stanford University presents his latest research on the divide between rural and urban areas of China.
- China's Rural versus Urban, July 22, 2013
This is an interesting Prezi presentation on China's rural versus urban, probably made by high school students.
- China's Push for Urbanization, June 15, 2013
In this New York Times article, the push by the Chinese government to move 250 million people from rural areas to cities is discussed, with the pros and cons explored.
- Perceptions of the Gap Between Rich and Poor in China, July 19, 2013
This short article presents the results of a survey conducted in China regarding the gap between rich and poor people in China.
- Rising Wealth Gap in China, January 20, 2013
This Forbes article discusses how the rising wealth gap in China is affecting the country and its people.
- How the Gap between Rich and Poor Affects People in China, January 21, 2013
This article from the Globe and Mail describes how people in the city of Chongqing are affected by the wealth gap between the wealthy and the poor.
- Growing Concerns in China about Inequality, Corruption, October 16, 2012
From the PEW Research Center, a study on inequality and corruption in China.
- Wealth Gap Worries China, February 18, 2013.
This article discusses how China's government has promised to narrow the gap between rich and poor, but differing measures of income may make progress hard to gauge.
- The Rich Vs Poor In China, September 26, 2014
“There has been an increasing number of mass disturbances occurring in recent years related to the yawning gap between the rich and the poor.” This warning, issued by Yan Ye, vice-professor of the North China Institute of Science and Technology, has made headlines in the state-run media
- Inequality in the United States and China, January 27, 2014
Income inequalities in the United States and China are not only high, and similarly high (which has been the case for a decade already), they are also becoming a serious political problem in both countries.
- Rich-poor divide in China surpasses US, April 30, 2014
Income gap between the rich and the poor in Communist China has surpassed that of the US by a big margin, a new study said, warning of increased social unrest as the growth slowed in the world's second largest economy.
- China’s Income Inequality Surpasses U.S., Posing Risk for Xi, April 29, 2014
The income gap between the rich and poor in China has surpassed that of the U.S. and is among the widest in the world, a report showed, adding to the challenges for President Xi Jinping as growth slows.
- China’s minimum wage rising as rich-poor gap widens, July 28, 2014
In China, a parade of local governments are rushing to raise the minimum wage, with the moves coming amid a recent widening of the already-large gap between rich and poor.
- In China, Rich Population Growth Beats World Average, June 20, 2014.
It’s not that the poor are getting poorer in China, but the rich are definitely getting richer. At least in numbers. The population of Chinese high net worth individuals, those with assets of $1 million or more, rose by 18% last year according to consulting firm Capgemini. That’s more than the global average, where the millionaire population grew by 14.7%.
- Religious Freedom in China, undated
A short introduction on religious freedom in China from the Berkley Center.
- Religious Freedom in China from a Chinese Perspective, undated
Religious freedoms in China presented from a Chinese perspective. Contrast this article with the next one from a non-Chinese perspective.
- Religious Freedoms in China from a non-Chinese perspective, February 20, 2013
This article, from a Christian website, discusses ways in which China does not enforce the religious freedom clauses in its constitution.
- Negotiable Rights? China's Ethnic Minorities and the Right to Freedom of Religion, 2009.
This article argues that in the case of China we need to expand the concept of implementation by taking into account the public discourse that accompanies the laws and policies on both religion and ethnic minorities. Local officials and intellectuals belonging to ethnic minorities in Yunnan have been successful in exploiting public discourse on 'religious freedom' and 'cultural rights of ethnic minorities' in order to revive or reinvent traditional religious practice.
- From Protest to Movement?, November 17, 2014
The article examines the implications of the protests in Hong Kong, known as Occupy Central, a response to moves by the government of China to limit civil participation in future Hong Kong elections. It looks into the conflicting interpretations of the Basic Law, which guarantees autonomy to Hong Kong including freedom of assembly, religion and speech. The potential effect of the Catholic Church's involvement on possible electoral reform, Christians and other religious groups is suggested.
- World Report on Religious Freedoms - China, 2014.
Rapid socio-economic change in China has been accompanied by relaxation of some restrictions on basic rights, but the government remains an authoritarian one-party state. It places arbitrary curbs on expression, association, assembly, and religion; prohibits independent labor unions and human rights organizations; and maintains Party control over all judicial institutions.
- Freedom of Religion in China Under the Current Legal Framework and Foreign Religious Bodies, April 29, 2014
China is a country with a long history of religious practice. The history of the five major religions being practiced now in China can be traced back for centuries. This paper intends to introduce the legal framework that concerns freedom of religion and the conduct and activities of foreign religious bodies in China. It intends to help readers, especially foreigners, understand the characteristics of Chinese laws and rules relating to the administration of freedom of religion and to the activities of foreigners and foreign religious bodies.
- Pastor Zhang Shaojie’s Harsh Sentence Highlights China’s Increasing Intolerance of Christianity, November 3, 2014
On July 4, 2014, the Nanle County People’s Court sentenced Pastor Zhang Shaojie to 12 years’ imprisonment for “fraud” and “gathering a crowd to disrupt public order” in connection with his role in a land dispute with the local government. The Puyang Municipality Intermediate People’s Court rejected Zhang’s appeal in August 2014. In October 2014, the Nanle County Court threatened to auction off Zhang’s house to pay off a court-ordered fine, demanding Zhang’s family vacate the house by October 26. Zhang’s detention and trial violated numerous provisions of international and Chinese law. His sentencing comes amid a broader crackdown on Christianity in China, including a campaign to remove crosses and demolish church buildings, and increased pressure on Christians to conform to Chinese government regulations on religion.