This is the "Body Systems" page of the "Body Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Body Systems   Tags: 7th grade, science  

Human Body Systems Presentation Slide Presentation Describe how the “nutrients” found in a food item of your choice will be delivered to the proper destination in your body, i.e. the cells in your big toe or even the cells in your brain.
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2015 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/content.php?pid=552293 Print Guide RSS Updates

Body Systems Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Body Systems - Keynote Slide Show

Human Body Systems Presentation Slide Presentation

Describe how the “nutrients” found in a food item of your choice will be delivered to the proper destination in your body, i.e. the cells in your big toe or even the cells in your brain. Explain how the circulatory, respiratory, digestive, and excretory systems are in involved in the delivery, utilization, and waste removal of the nutrient products.

A successful project will:

  1. Use science concepts/terms accurately.
  2. Have visuals including pictures and diagrams used appropriately to support the presentation.
  3. There is a clear beginning, an organized body, and a clear closure.

Requirements:

  1. Each student will make his/her own slide presentation.
  2. The slide presentation will have a minimum of 7 slides with a maximum of 20 slides (1 slide will be the title slide and another will include a bibliography).
  3. Include a minimum of 20 twenty terms, used correctly, listed on the back of this page. 4. Each diagram/picture used must be cited.
  4. Use the last slide for your bibliography.

Due Date: February 13, 2014

Helpful questions to ponder:

How is the food changed from the form prior to consumption to the form it must be for the cell to use?

How are food molecules transferred from the digestive system to individual cells throughout the body?

What part of the cell processes the food molecules?

What is the name of the process that occurs in the cell?

What are the end products of the process described above?

How are wastes that are formed in the cell removed from the body?

Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Online information

The following is a list of online resources you can look at to get information about volcanoes. This information has either been purchase through our access to online databases, or we have vetted the sites for their validity, reliability, and accuracy.

  • EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
    You'll find information in here on volcanoes. Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Britannica has a great article on the geology of volcanoes as well as tons of images and videos you can watch to learn more.
  • Grolier Online
    Grolier Online features several articles on volcanoes, arranged by reading level. For a bigger challenge, switch to high school at the top.
  • Science Online
    Want something a little more intellectually rigorous? Try Science Online. The essays on volcanoes are thorough.
  • The Human Body
    Several learning modules on the human body, from Science Online.

The Circulatory System

From Science Online: The circulatory system governs the circulation of blood around the body.

The Digestive System

From Science Online: The purpose of the digestive system is to take food into the body and convert it to a usable form that can be transported throughout the body.

  • The digestive system
    This is a summary of the digestive system from Science Online.
  • Common problems of the digestive system
    There are many conditions that affect the way the body digests food. Two common conditions are lactose intolerance and malabsorption.
  • Nutrition and major nutrients
    Why do humans have to eat?
  • Minor nutrients and metabolism
    Although sugars, proteins, and fats receive a lot of attention in discussions of nutrition, vitamins and minerals also play a vital role in our diet. This article examines these nutrients and also includes a brief discussion of the way we actually extract energy from nutrients through biochemical pathways.

The Excretory System

From Science Online: The major functions of the excretory system are the removal of nitrogenous wastes from the body and osmoregulation.

The Musculoskeletal system

From Science Online: The musculoskeletal system comprises the muscular and the skeletal systems. The purpose of the muscular system is locomotion or movement. The functions of the skeletal system are to provide structural support, protect the body's internal organs, and aid in movement by providing a simple mechanical lever system against which the muscles work.

  • The musculoskeletal system
    From Science Online, this article on the musculoskeletal system provides a great overview of how it operates.

The Nervous System

From Science Online: A ramifying system of cells, found in all animals except sponges, that forms a communication system between receptors and effectors and allows varying degrees of coordination of information from different receptors and stored memory, producing integrated responses to stimuli.

The Respiratory System

The respiratory system enables the exchange of air and the transport of oxygen through the lungs into the circulatory system.

The Skin System

From Science Online: A primary function of skin is forming a barrier that protects the body from dehydration. In fact, the biggest threat to survival for terrestrial animals is dehydration, and the waterproof nature of skin keeps fluids and other important substances inside. Skin also protects the entire body from physical or external injury (bumps, abrasions, and cuts), as well as chemical damage (acids and bases). In addition, skin shields us from continual bacterial invasion and ultraviolet radiation in sunlight.

  • The skin system
    This article from Science Online presents the skin system and how it operates.
  • Common skin diseases
    From Science Online, this article discusses common skin diseases.
 

Body Systems

 

Go to School Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Submit a Link

Have a great link to share with your classmates? Submit it below and it could appear on this guide. Hooray for collaboration!

Google Search

 

Books on the Systems of the Body

Cover Art
The Respiratory System - Susan Whittemore; Deena Cloud (Contribution by); Denton A. Cooley (Introduction by)
Call Number: 612.2 WHI
ISBN: 9781604133752
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Describes how the respiratory system works and the types of diseases and how they affect the body.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Illustrated Guide to the Human Body - Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: 612.2 RES
ISBN: 0816059799
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Presents a guide to the respiratory system, providing detailed descriptions with diagrams and illustrations, including information on how it works, the chest, lungs, upper tract, and nonrespiratory issues.

Cover Art
The Circulatory System - Susan Whittemore; Deena Cloud (Contribution by)
Call Number: 612.1 WHI
ISBN: 9781604133769
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Discusses what the circulatory system is, how it works, and how it responds to exercise and hemorrhage.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Illustrated Guide to the Human Body - Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: 612.1 HEA
ISBN: 0816059799
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Describes the parts of the circulatory system and how they function.

Cover Art
Digestion and Nutrition - Robert J. Sullivan; Deena Cloud (Contribution by)
Call Number: 612.3 SUL
ISBN: 9781604133677
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Discusses what the digestive system is, how it works, the importance of a healthy diet, and diseases of the digestive tract.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Illustrated Guide to the Human Body - Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: 612.3 DIG
ISBN: 0816059799
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Presents a guide to the digestive system, providing detailed descriptions with diagrams and illustrations, including information on the mouth and gullet, stomach and gut, liver and pancreas, nutrients, and the urinary system.

Cover Art
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Human Body - David Burnie
Call Number: 612 BUR
ISBN: 0789402041
Publication Date: 1995-09-09
A detailed, illustrated guide to the major systems, functions, and structures of the human body.

Cover Art
The Visual Dictionary of Human Anatomy - Richard Walker; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 611 VIS
ISBN: 0789404451
Publication Date: 1996-04-25
Presents a complete look at the human anatomy with over 200 illustrations.

Cover Art
Complete Human Body - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Alice Roberts
Call Number: 612 ROB
ISBN: 9780756667337
Publication Date: 2010-08-30
A comprehensive, illustrated guide to the human body, providing an atlas of human anatomy, explaining how the body functions and how humans develop throughout the life cycle, and examining over two hundred common diseases and disorders. Includes an interactive DVD-ROM.

Cover Art
Human Body - Brian Ford
Call Number: 612 FOR
ISBN: 0836800559
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Describes the various parts of the human body and their functions.

Cover Art
The Skeletal and Muscular System - Pam Walker; Elaine Wood
Call Number: 612.7 WAL
ISBN: 1590183347
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Examines the skeletal and muscular systems, explaining how they work together to allow movement in the human body, looks at the joints of the body, and discusses diseases and disorders of the musculoskeletal system, as well as advances in the field.

Cover Art
The Skeletal and Muscular Systems - Gregory J. Stewart; Denton A. Cooley (Introduction by)
Call Number: 611 STE
ISBN: 1604133651
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
The skeletal and muscular systems not only allow us to move and stand tall, but they are also involved in protecting the body, allowing it to grow, and performing subconscious activities such as breathing and the beating of the heart. The heart, an organ made of muscle, distributes blood that lets other systems of the body function. These complex systems work together to achieve many essential bodily functions. In "The Skeletal and Muscular Systems," learn how these two systems interact to keep the human body alive and in motion.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Illustrated Guide to the Human Body - Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: 611 SKE
ISBN: 0816059799
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Presents a guide to the skeletal and muscular systems, providing detailed descriptions with diagrams and illustrations, including information on body systems, head and spine, chest and abdomen, arms and shoulders, legs and feet, and joints.

Cover Art
Frequently Asked Questions about How the Teen Brain Works - Michael R. Wilson
Call Number: 612.8 WIL
ISBN: 1435853245
Publication Date: 2009-08-15
Offers teens an overview of how the adolescent brain works, explaining what a brain is made of, how it changes during the teen years, gender differences, and other related topics.

Cover Art
The Nervous System - F. Fay Evans-Martin; Deena Cloud (Contribution by); Denton A. Cooley (Introduction by)
Call Number: 612.8 EVA
ISBN: 1604133740
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Discusses the development and organization of the nervous system, its functions, and potential injuries and complications.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Illustrated Guide to the Human Body - Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: 612.8 BRA
ISBN: 0816059799
Publication Date: 2005-04-01

Cover Art
Welcome to Your Brain - Sandra Aamodt; Sam Wang
Call Number: 612.8 AAM
ISBN: 1596912839
Publication Date: 2008-03-04
We are using our brains at practically every moment of our lives, and yet few of us have the first idea how they work. Much of what we think we know comes from folklore: that we only use 10 percent of our brain, or that drinking kills brain cells. These and other brain myths are wrong, as demonstrated by the work of neuroscientists who have spent decades studying this complex organ. However, most of what scientists have learned is not known to the world outside their laboratories.

In this readable, lively book, Sandra Aamodt and Sam Wang dispel common myths about the brain and provide a comprehensive, useful overview of how it really works. In its pages, you'll discover how to cope with jet lag, how your brain affects your religion, and how men's and women's brains differ. With witty, accessible prose decorated by charts, trivia, quizzes, and illustrations, this book is great for quick reference or extended reading.

Both practical and fun, Welcome to Your Brain is perfect whether you want to impress your friends or simply use your brain better.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip