This is the "Home" page of the "Ms. Woodland's 8th Grade Communicable Disease Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ms. Woodland's 8th Grade Communicable Disease Project  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2012 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/disease Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Databases

  • Encyclopedia Britannica (School Edition)
    The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
  • Grolier Online
    Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.

Websites

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    The CDC is the real deal, folks; nearly every outbreak movie every made mentions them. You can search by topic or click on a letter to browse. Each page is chock full of information. Maybe the best resource on the 'net for communicable disease information.
  • Communicable Disease Control and Surveillance
    Site hosted by the NH Department of Health and Human Services. Provides information on a variety of communicable diseases like meningitis, rabies, influenze, etc.
  • KidsHealth
    Great website for kids and young adults. Search for diseases to find easy-to-follow information. Also contains audio of the articles in case you are too lazy to actually read.
  • Mayo Clinic
    Click on "Health Information" on the right hand side and search for diseases and conditions. Provides basic information, images, symptoms, and links to other resources. Great tool!
  • PubMed/MEDLINE
    This is the big leagues, right here. Government website on health and medicine so you know the information is going to be good. Search for your disease in the search box located in the top and get back pages of articles. Not for the faint of heart!
 

Poor Earth

 

Go to School Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

Books

The library has many books on all sorts of communicable and infectious diseases. All are found in the non-fiction and reference sections under the call number 616. If you need help finding materials, please ask Mr. Brough for help.

Cover Art
American College of Physicians Complete Home Medical Guide - David Goldmann
Call Number: REF 616.02 AME
Publication Date: 1999
Provides information on various aspects of health and medicine, discussing screening, drug treatments, and surgery; and features charts for assessing symptoms, and descriptions of over seven hundred medical conditions.

Cover Art
Everything You Need to Know About Lyme Disease - Karen Donnelly
Call Number: 616.9 DON
Publication Date: 2000
Describes the causes, symptoms, and treatment of Lyme disease.

Cover Art
Fighting Infectious Diseases - Robert Snedden
Call Number: 616.9 SNE
Publication Date: 2007
Discusses such infectious diseases as rabies, smallpox, AIDS, influenza, and malaria and describes how they are transmitted and treated.

Submit a Link

Have a great link to share with your classmates? Submit it below and it could appear on this guide. Hooray for collaboration!


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip