This is the "Communicable Diseases" page of the "Communicable Diseases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communicable Diseases   Tags: health  

This guide directs you to a handful of key resources that will help you get started in finding information in Communicable Diseases with a selective list of books, journals, databases, websites, etc.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2016 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/diseases Print Guide RSS Updates

Communicable Diseases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

Communicable Disease Project

Disease Topics:

  • Strep Throat
  • Diphtheria
  • Influenza
  • Pneumonia
  • Hepatitis C
  • Athletes Foot
  • Ring worm
  • Rabies
  • Polio
  • Meningitis
  • Tuberculosis
  • Mumps
  • Measles
  • Whooping cough (Pertussis)
  • Tetanus
  • Mononucleosis
  • Lyme Disease
  • West Nile Virus

Pick a disease from the above list.

Create a PowerPoint/Pages/Keynote report informing others about the disease.

  • Define the illness (including whether it is viral, bacterial, or caused by a fungus).
  • Symptoms   (what are the signs that you have it)
  • Diagnosis (how do doctors test for this disease)
  • Treatments
  • Preventions (how do you keep from getting it)

Spelling counts!  Make sure you double-check it.

Cite your sources on the last slide.

Teach the class about the disease you chose using your presentation.

 

Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Suggested Links

Suggest other links here!

Websites

 

Books on Communicable Diseases

The library has several books that are useful for this project. These books are checked out to Ms. Woodland and can be used in her class.

Cover Art
American College of Physicians Complete Home Medical Guide - David R. Goldmann (Editor); Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: REF 616.02 AME
ISBN: 0789444127
Publication Date: 1999-09-15
Provides information on various aspects of health and medicine, discussing screening, drug treatments, and surgery; and features charts for assessing symptoms, and descriptions of over seven hundred medical conditions. Includes a first aid guide, drug glossary, index, and CD-ROM.

Cover Art
The World of Microbes - Janey Levy
Call Number: 616.9 LEV
ISBN: 9781435895362
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
An exploration of genetics that focuses on bacteria, viruses, and other microorganisms and discusses advances in the study of them.

Cover Art
Fighting Infectious Diseases - Robert Snedden
Call Number: 616.9 SNE
ISBN: 9781403495600
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Discusses such infectious diseases as rabies, smallpox, AIDS, influenza, and malaria and describes how they are transmitted and treated.

Cover Art
Infectious Diseases - Kara Rogers
Call Number: 616.9 INF
ISBN: 9781615303410
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
Examines the many causes and effects of bacterial, viral, and other forms of disease, as well as the various steps taken over time to mitigate the damaging consequences of infection.

Cover Art
Diseases - Bryan H. Bunch (Editor); Grolier Educational Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 616 DIS
ISBN: 071725688x
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Contains nearly five hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information on the different body parts and systems, and the diseases and disorders that affect them, discussing causes, incidence, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment options, and other aspects of each condition.

Cover Art
Diphtheria - Philip Margulies
Call Number: 616.9 MAR
ISBN: 1404202536
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Diphtheria, a disease that caused breathing difficulties, suffocation, heart failure, and paralysis, was one of the most feared killers during the 1800s. During the peak years of diphtheria epidemics, 150,000 people a year became infected, and 15,000 of those died. The discovery of a treatment for diphtheria is one of modern medicine's greatest success stories, told here in gripping style. Once called "the strangling angel of children," diphtheria has become a rarity in the developed world as the fight against it continues in Africa, Asia, and central America.

Cover Art
Diphtheria - Patrick Guilfoile
Call Number: 616.9 GUI
ISBN: 1604132280
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Diphtheria is a bacterial infection caused by Corynebacterium diphtheriae, which attacks the respiratory system. Although the earliest accounts of diphtheria date back at least 2,000 years, this disease was first associated with major epidemics in Europe during the 16th century. By the 18th century, diphtheria became a major cause of childhood illness and death in the New World. With the advent of widespread vaccination in the 1920s, the number of cases and deaths dropped dramatically. However, in areas where vaccination rates drop, diphtheria can rapidly become reestablished, as seen in the late 1990s in several former Soviet republics. Diphtheria describes the disease, the bacteria that causes it, and the development of effective treatments.

Cover Art
The Good Foot Book - Glenn Copeland; Stan Solomon; Mark Myerson
Call Number: 617.5 COP
ISBN: 0897934482
Publication Date: 2004-12-22
This book contains the latest information on every aspect of foot health - including new diagnostic and treatment procedures developed within the last four years - for every foot problem imaginable: bunions, hammer toes and corns, calluses and warts, foot skin problems, and the serious foot problems faced by diabetics, seniors, and serious athletes, especially runners. The author specializes in computerized orthotics for over 50 different conditions, and this book is the first to standardize orthotic foot therapy. The reader wil learn what computerized orthotics can do for both your feet and body. They can even help with sciatica.

Cover Art
Hepatitis - Melissa Abramovitz (Editor)
Call Number: 616.3 ABR
ISBN: 9781420505955
Publication Date: 2011-06-24
An exploration of hepatitis that provides information on what it is, causes, risk factors, prevention, treatment, and how people live with the disease.

Cover Art
Hepatitis - Jacqueline Langwith
Call Number: 616.36 HEP
ISBN: 9780737745535
Publication Date: 2009-12-11
Features a collection of essays on hepatitis, discussing such topics as causes of the disease, current treatments, and the importance of testing, and contains profiles of three individuals living with hepatits C and hepatitis B.

Cover Art
Hepatitis B - Jeri Freedman
Call Number: 616.3 FRE
ISBN: 9781435850583
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
A discussion of hepatitis B, a disease of the liver which is most often the result of unprotected sex or from sharing a hypodermic needle, explaining how the liver functions, the effects of hepatitis B on the liver, the short- and long-term effects of the disease, and diagnosis, treatment, and prevention.

Cover Art
Influenza - Connie Goldsmith
Call Number: 614.5 GOL
ISBN: 0761394575
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
A comprehensive examination of influenza that explains how it presents itself, how it spreads, and how it is treated and prevented.

Cover Art
Everything You Need to Know about Lyme Disease - Karen J. Donnelly
Call Number: 616.9 DON
ISBN: 0823932168
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Describes the causes, symptoms, and treatment of Lyme disease.

Cover Art
Lyme Disease - Mary E. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: 616.92 LYM
ISBN: 9780737757774
Publication Date: 2011-10-28
Provides clear, careful explanations about lyme disease and offers readers and researchers insight into what the conditions are, the causes and how people live with the disease.

Cover Art
Lyme Disease - Shannon Kelly (Editor)
Call Number: 616.9 KEL
ISBN: 9781420506358
Publication Date: 2011-11-04
Provides information about Lyme disease, discussing what it is, how people get it, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, the aftermath of infection, and prevention.

Cover Art
Malaria - Nancy Dziedzic; Clayton Farris Naff
Call Number: 616.93 MAL
ISBN: 9780737743791
Publication Date: 2009-11-20
Seventeen essays provide varying perspectives on malaria, discussing the history of the disease, vaccination, access to DDT in Africa, bed nets, and the effects of climate change on the disease, and offering related personal stories.

Cover Art
Measles and Mumps - L. H. Colligan
Call Number: 616.9 COL
ISBN: 0761448195
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Provides comprehensive information on the causes, treatment, and history of measles and mumps.

Cover Art
Meningitis - John F. Grabowski
Call Number: 616.8 GRA
ISBN: 9781590184110
Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Describes the various types of meningitis, its symptoms and treatment, and ways in which to prevent the disease.

Cover Art
Meningitis - Lorrie Klosterman
Call Number: 616.8 KLO
ISBN: 9780761422112
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Describes what it is like to have meningitis, explains what meningitis is, reviews the history of the disease, and discusses diagnosis, treatment, recovery, and prevention.

Cover Art
Everything You Need to Know about Mononucleosis - Paul Smart
Call Number: 616.9 SMA
ISBN: 0823925501
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Discusses the nature and diagnosis of mononucleosis and how to protect against it or cope with having it.

Cover Art
Mononucleosis - Janet M. Decker; Alan Hecht; Janet Decker; Hilary Babcock
Call Number: 616.9 DEC
ISBN: 1604132345
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Discusses the cause, symptoms, transmission, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious mononucleosis and examines the discovery of the Epstein-Barr virus as well as it's relation to cancer and other diseases.

Cover Art
Infectious Mononucleosis - Hal Marcovitz
Call Number: 616.9 MAR
ISBN: 9781590189382
Publication Date: 2008-08-15
An overview of infectious mononucleosis that defines what it is and discusses its relation to other diseases, diagnosis, and treatment.

Cover Art
Pneumonia - Christine Adamec
Call Number: 616.2 ADA
ISBN: 1604134518
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Provides an overview of the history, causes, symptoms, and diagnosis of pneumonia, looks at complications from this lung infection, and discusses treatment options.

Cover Art
Pneumonia Essentials 2010 - Burke A. Cunha
Call Number: 616.2 PNE
ISBN: 0763772208
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
A detailed overview of pneumonia that covers clues for diagnosing the illness; community-acquired, nursing home-acquired, bioterrorist agent, and chronic pneumonias; collection procedures, stains, and tests for pneumonia pathogens; and other related topics.

Cover Art
Rabies - P. Dileep Kumar
Call Number: 614.5 KUM
ISBN: 0313345244
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
Discusses the origins and epidemiology of rabies, its impact on contemporary society, and treatments developed by doctors and researchers around the world to prevent, alleviate or cure the disease, and includes a glossary.

Cover Art
Tetanus - Patrick Guilfoile; Hilary Babcock (Editor); David Heymann (Foreword by)
Call Number: 616.9 GUI
ISBN: 0791097110
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
An overview of tetanus that provides information on what it is, its history, its causative agent, how it is treated and prevented, and continuing concerns and prospects; and includes a glossary and resources.

Cover Art
Tuberculosis - Carol A. Dyer
Call Number: 616.9 DYE
ISBN: 031337211X
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
"Tuberculosis" presents TB from the perspective of the people and events that shaped its past and the factors that influence its current global state. The book begins with an essay discussing the importance of the social factors that influence the transmission and progression of TB. The following eight chapters focus on disease-specific information, historical and biographical perspectives, influence on the arts, the current state of TB in the world, and future directions. Throughout, medical information about the disease is intertwined with a historical and cultural perspective to illustrate the state of the disease today.

Cover Art
West Nile Virus - Melissa Abramovitz (Editor)
Call Number: 614.5 ABR
ISBN: 1420509365
Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Examines the history, diagnosis, symptoms, and treatment options for West Nile virus, as well as ongoing research for prevention.

Cover Art
West Nile Virus, Second Edition - Jeffrey N. Sfakianos; Alan Hecht
Call Number: 614.5 SFA
ISBN: 160413254X
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
An introduction to the deadly West Nile virus which was first detected in the United States in 1999, discussing the disease's history, transmission, treatment, and steps that should be taken to avoid contracting it.

Cover Art
Whooping Cough - Patrick G. Guilfoile
Call Number: 616.2 GUI
ISBN: 1604132299
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Presents an overview of the disease whooping cough, covering its transmission, symptoms, treatments, prevention, genome, and other related aspects.

Cover Art
Whooping Cough - Toney Allman (Editor)
Call Number: 616.2 ALL
ISBN: 1420507362
Publication Date: 2012-03-23
Examines whooping cough and how it affects the body, as well as prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of the condition.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip