Last Updated: Apr 29, 2013
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Thesauri, Oh My!
- Encyclopedia Britannica (School Edition)
The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
- Grolier Online
Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
- Google Scholar
It's Google...for wicked smart people. Just kidding. It is the same as Google only you get back scholarly results. USE IT!
- Sweet Search
Search engine that gives you back results that have been verified by people who know things. Y'know, like teachers, librarians...wizards.
- College Board's Full Practice Test
Offers the official 2012-13 SAT practice test.
- Dome SAT
Features SAT preparation study guides, vocabulary drills, and practice tests; subjects include math, critical reading, essay writing, and vocabulary.
- I Need a Pencil
Offers 60 lessons, 800+ practice exam questions, and a score projector (which will help predict your SAT score).
- March 2 Success
A joint project by the U.S. Army and the publishers of Peterson Guides, this site offers seven full-length practice tests and 25 decks of flash cards.
Bills itself as "the most comprehensive collection of Free SAT study resources on the web offering practice exams, study guides, flashcards, quizzes, cram sheets, articles, links and tips to help you succeed on the SAT exam!"
Extensive collection of user crated flashcards for all subjects. Create your own and share them or use someone else's cards.
- U.S. Census
Find curent and historical data from the US Census including population, demographics, and other number-related goodness.
- CIA World Factbook
Up to the minute information on all countries from your friends at the CIA. Includes geography, populations, government information, and tons of other useful information.
- Currency Converter
How much is $100 worth in Paris? This site will tell you.
- Old Farmer's Almanac
Contains all kinds of farm-y information like the best time to plant vegetables, weather history and predictions, sun and moon phases and all sorts of other old timey information. The print version is published in good ol' New Hampshire.
- The World Clock
What time is it in Albuquerque? How about the time in Hong Kong? This site will give you the time from all over the world.
- World Flags
Flags, flags, and more flags.
- World Constitutions
See how other governments run (or don't run) their countries.