American history is marked by many different eras. Here are some resources available for you to look at for your project.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2013
Portfolio of Artifacts: Eras of United States History
- Choose an era of United States History. Do some preliminary research on the era in general. What was the era like? How did it get its name?
- Search for primary sources from that era that you feel represent the era. Specifically sources in one of the following categories:
- Visual Art: paintings, cartoons, photography, or film.
- Music or Literature: songs, poems, or short pieces.
- Culture: fashion, recipes, vehicles, or games.
- You must have at least 2 from each category, and 15 sources overall. Each source should be unique from the other sources. No more than 5 sources may represent one aspect of the era (ie. Wealth distribution in the Gilded Age). You must create a bibliography for your sources using MLA format.
- For each source you will do an analysis. What does this source mean or represent? For analysis, you will use a graphic organizer as an aid.
- If you are working at home, there are downloadable organizers on Ms. Eckertís website under the “Student” page.
- After analysis, you will respond to the following question in one or two paragraphs: In what ways does this artifact (source) represent the era I am studying?
A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
- Biography in Context
Contains articles from encyclopedias, books, and other reference sources on thousands of significant and lesser-known individuals. Sources include: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, and the International Dictionary of Art and Artists.
- Discovering Collection
Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
- EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.
- Eras of United States History
The Library of Congress hosts a great site, called American History, where you can explore the various eras of United States History for background information as well as for entertaining facts!
- Library of Congress' American History resources
This link takes you to the Library of Congress' resource page on American history.
- Digital History at the University of Houston
This is a great resource for this project as it features not only overviews of all eras of American history but access to primary documents, songs, food, and customs.
- American Photographs from its beginning to today
The Smithsonian American Art Museum celebrates the numerous ways in which photography, from early daguerreotypes to contemporary digital works, has captured the American experience.
- Smithsonian Institute's Civil War Collections
A great site to see not only primary sources like photographs but also artifacts such as uniforms, weapons, medals, envelopes and posters.
- Smithsonian American Art Museum's 1940s
This website captures a 1940s America that was rendered fragile by the Great Depression and made anxious by a global conflict.
- The Museum of American History's Collections
The diverse collections of the National Museum of American History reflect a wide variety of subjects relating to the history of the United States as well as the history of science, medicine, and technology.
Have a great link to share with your classmates? Submit it below and it could appear on this guide. Hooray for collaboration!