This is the "Evolving Rights" page of the "Evolving Rights Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evolving Rights Project   Tags: aamerican history, social studies  

This page features event from US History that represents and example of "evolving rights and responsibilities."
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/evolving_rights Print Guide RSS Updates

Evolving Rights Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

    Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Databases

    • ABC-CLIO
      A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
    • Discovering Collection
      Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
    • EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
      Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.

      Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
      The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
    • Grolier Online
      Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.

    Al Capone

    From ABC-CLIOAlphonse Capone was one of America's most notorious criminals, and the crime organization that he created in the 1920s became a symbol of the Mafia and a model for future criminal organizations.

    Alcatraz

    From Grolier Online: Alcatraz is an island in San Francisco Bay, the site of the famous prison of the same name. The island was discovered by the Spanish in 1545 and named in 1775 for its pelicans (in Spanish, alcatraces). Designated a U.S. military reservation in 1850, it was fortified and utilized for military prisoners during and after the Civil War. It officially became a military prison in 1907, and in 1934 it was turned into a federal penitentiary, receiving its first federal prisoners on August 11. The prison was considered escape-proof because of its fortresslike structure and the strong, cold currents in the surrounding waters. Closed on Mar. 21, 1963, the structure stood empty until it was seized by a group of Native Americans on Nov. 9, 1969. They held it until June 11, 1971, in an unsuccessful attempt to gain government recognition of their claim to the island. The island was opened (1972) to the public as a part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area.

    Great Railroad Strike of 1877

    From ABC-CLIOThe Great Railroad Strike of 1877 was the first rail strike and general labor strike in U.S. history. The strike revealed the tension between labor and business in the United States during the Second Industrial Revolution and led to the regulation of the railroad industry and better organization of the labor movement.

    Bloomers

    An American advocate of woman's rights in the early days of the feminist movement, Amelia Jenks Bloomer (1818-1894) spent most of her life working for the cause. She was also a reformer of women's clothing and helped promote "bloomers."

    Carlisle School

    From Virginia University: For Native American children the boarding school experience necessitated their transformation from unincorporated members of Native America to participants in the culture of incorporation. For many, boarding school represented the first contact Native American children had with the outside white world. When they arrived at boarding school they were greeted by white teachers and missionaries who hoped to "civilize" them. Famous boarding schools like the Carlisle School (pictured above) and the Hampton Institute engaged in a brutal program of forced incorporation. The children, who were many times dragged from their homes without the knowledge of their parents, were denied the right to speak in their native tongue, call each other by native names, and were forced to leave the last vestiges of their traditional lifestyle, including their long black hair, at the gates of the school.

    Child Labor in the Industrial Era

    From the Child Labor Education Project: Forms of child labor, including indentured servitude and child slavery, have existed throughout American history. As industrialization moved workers from farms and home workshops into urban areas and factory work, children were often preferred, because factory owners viewed them as more manageable, cheaper, and less likely to strike. Growing opposition to child labor in the North caused many factories to move to the South. By 1900, states varied considerably in whether they had child labor standards and in their content and degree of enforcement. By then, American children worked in large numbers in mines, glass factories, textiles, agriculture, canneries, home industries, and as newsboys, messengers, bootblacks, and peddlers.

    Chuck Cooper & Earl Lloyd

    From ABC-CLIO: Looking around the National Basketball Association (NBA) today, fans might find it hard to believe that the league was nearly five seasons old before the first African American players were added to NBA teams.

    Dorothea Dix

    Dorothea Dix was an educator, author, and philanthropist, whose campaign for humane treatment of the mentally ill transformed American attitudes and institutions in the two decades before the Civil War.

    • Dorothea Dix's Biography
      An exhaustive biography of Dorothea Dix from Discovering Biography.
    • Gale's biography of Dorothea Dix
      A shorter biography of Dorothea Dix.
    • Mental hygiene
      Background information on mental hygiene and institutions in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th century from Encyclopedia Britannica.
    • Dorothea Dix's report on the Insane
      A primary document written by Dorothea Dix presented to the Massachusetts legislature in January 1843 following an 18-month survey of conditions in every jail and poorhouse in the state. Below is an excerpt of her findings. She successfully convinced the legislature to enlarge its asylum at Worcester, Massachusetts.
    • Health and Medicine in the United States, 1850-65
      An essay on the presence or absence of health and medicine in the United States in the period when Dorothea Dix was active.

    The New Deal

    From the American Social History Project: The New Deal was a turning point in the role of the federal government in the everyday lives of ordinary people. The relief programs of the New Deal altered the social contract, giving the federal government a much greater hand in providing for the basic needs of its citizens. Consequently New Deal programs provided, for the first time, direct relief in the form of payments, food, household supplies, and jobs. The New Deal also entailed a great deal of protections for consumers (especially in the security of bank deposits) and workers. The majority of Americans were extremely grateful for the changes in the federal government; some even demanded more radical changes. However, some feared that the New Deal would make people too dependent on the government; others called it socialism outright. 

    Henry Ford and the Assembly Line

    The assembly line revolutionized the manufacturing process in automobiles and in a host of other industries, reducing the price of goods but also creating tensions between labor and management.

    Industrial Workers of the World

    Founded in 1905 by the leaders of 43 labor organizations, the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW) was a radical labor union. The IWW pursued short-term goals via strikes and acts of sabotage and a long-term agenda to overthrow capitalism and rebuild society based on socialist principles. One IWW organizer proclaimed that the "final aim is revolution." Though small in numbers because of their extremist views and tactics (its membership probably never exceeded 100,000), the IWW members, called "Wobblies," attracted national attention.

    Jackie Robinson

    From ABC-CLIO: Jackie Robinson was the first African American to receive a contract to play Major League Baseball. This first break in organized baseball's segregation practices in 1945 paved the way for other talented black athletes to enter the sport.

    NASA

    The National Aeronautics and Space Administration is the agency of the United States government that is responsible for the nation's civilian space program and for aeronautics and aerospace research.

    The New York City Draft Riots of 1863

    The Draft Riots, a protest against allegedly unjust Union conscription during the Civil War, occurred in New York City on July 13–16, 1863.

    Title 9

    Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits discrimination based on sex in education programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance.

    War Protest Music

    There is a lot to be said about protest music. Music can show how popular culture thinks and what is most important to the generation producing, singing and listening to it. During the Vietnam War music was able to spark a generation of protest. Protest music is essential to any major change that can occur. Music helped a generation to make change and end a police action

    • Timeline of 1954-1975
      Timeline for a Nation in Upheaval, 1954-1975, from ABC-CLIO.
    • Culture of Protest, 1960-1969
      An overview of the culture of protest from 1960 to 1969 in the United States, from ABC-CLIO.
    • List of anti-war songs about the Vietnam War
      This is an exhaustive list of anti-war songs about Vietnam, from Wikipedia.
    • Protest Music
      Background information on protest songs.
    • Protest Songs from Vietnam to Iraq
      This study offers a content analysis of the lyrics of 100 songs of protest during two periods of war, the Vietnam War during the 1960s and early 70s and the war in Iraq which began inMarch of 2003. It provides a brief overview of some of the social and technological conditionswhich have led to the changes that have taken place in recent protest songs. The article showsthat more recent protest music has become more specific, with a greater focus on historicalevents than occurred in the lyrics of protest music written during the years of the Vietnam War.
    • Protest Songs and Interpretation
      This site features background information on protest songs as well as interpretations and deconstructions of several protest songs.
    • Impact of protest music (MS doc file)
      As American involvement in Vietnam grew with the start of American bombing raids on North Vietnam and the arrival of the first U.S. combat troops, the mainstream media failed to fully and aggressively report on developments in Southeast Asia. This gap was filled – at least in part – by protest music which served as an alternative media outlet that asked questions and raised issues that were absent from mainstream reporting. In this paper, I illustrate how protest music filled this gap. I also demonstrate that as U.S involvement in Vietnam escalated and opposition to the war among the American people increased, the popularity of protest music rose proportionally, and that by the time opposition to the war had reached its peak, protest music had largely been incorporated into the mainstream culture.

    Weeks Act

    The 1911 Weeks Act created a truly national forest system, authorizing the federal government to purchase and maintain land in the eastern U.S. as national forests.

    Welfare in the 1920s

    As the economy roared following the end of the Great War, many people began discussing ways of spreading wealth throughout society and providing the means for everyone to have a basic level of services.

    Women's Suffrage

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip