This is the "Holocaust Project" page of the "Holocaust" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Holocaust  

Mr. Hussman's Holocaust project
Last Updated: Sep 21, 2015 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/holocaust Print Guide RSS Updates

Holocaust Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

    Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Online Resources

    • ABC-CLIO
      A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
    • Discovering Collection
      Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
    • EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
      Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.

      Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
      The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
    • Grolier Online
      Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
    • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
      This link takes you to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
    • Holocaust Timeline
      A timeline of Nazi Germany and of the Holocaust.
    • The Jewish Virtual Library's Holocaust page
      This page features several resources on the Holocaust.
    • A teacher's guide to the Holocaust
      This site compiles links to several activities, such as biographies, videos, music, and plays about the Holocaust.
    • The Holocaust Museum of Houston
      The Holocaust Museum of Houston offers information on Holocaust topics, including survivor testimonies.
     

    Books on the Holocaust

    Cover Art
    The Holocaust and Life under Nazi Occupation - Peter Darman (Editor)
    Call Number: 940.53 HOL
    ISBN: 144889235X
    Publication Date: 2012-12-15
    Accessible text details the murderous policies that the Hitler and the Nazis inflicted upon Jews and other undesirables in occupied Europe during the Holocaust. For the first time in history, a modern industrial state harnessed modern production techniques exclusively to serve the goal of exterminating a peopleEuropean Jewry. The book documents these developments under the Nazi regime, including the institution of the Nuremberg Laws and exclusion of Jews from German life in the 1930s through the systematic murder of millions of European Jews in concentration camps during World War II. An honest, accurate picture of the Nazi genocide, including the racial beliefs that made the Holocaust possible is presented.

    Cover Art
    The Warsaw Ghetto in Photographs - Ulrich Keller (Editor)
    Call Number: 940.5 WAR
    ISBN: 0486246655
    Publication Date: 1984-10-01
    A collection of 206 photographs that help document what life was like for the European Jews who lived in the Warsaw Ghetto in 1941.

    Cover Art
    Holocaust - Angela Gluck Wood; Dan G. Stone
    Call Number: 940.53 WOO
    ISBN: 0756625351
    Publication Date: 2007-07-02
    Explaining the complex political and social backdrop that allowed the Holocaust to occur, as well as its progression and aftermath, this comprehensive volume contains first-hand testimony from survivors and enables readers to appreciate the impact of the Holocaust on real people and the lives they and their families have rebuilt today.

    Cover Art
    The Resistance - Deborah Bachrach
    Call Number: 940.53 BAC
    ISBN: 1560060921
    Publication Date: 1997-01-01
    In the atmosphere of World War II Europe, the Nazis imposed hardship and engendered fear and a sense of futility in the peoples of Europe. It was the rare individual who braved this atmosphere to try to save lives. This book discusses the efforts of Jews and non-Jews in various countries to stop the deadly persecution of Germany's Jewish population by the Nazis.

    Cover Art
    Liberation - E. Tina Tito
    Call Number: 940.53 TIT
    ISBN: 0823928462
    Publication Date: 1999-07-15
    First-hand accounts of teenagers Who experienced and survived the Holocaust Based on powerful survivor testimony, these books explore eight themes of the Holocaust. Each volume features interviews with survivors and others who were teenagers during the Holocaust. Background material anchors the experience of individuals in the broader context of Holocaust history.

    Cover Art
    The Holocaust - Michael V. Uschan
    Call Number: 940.53 USC
    ISBN: 1590182529
    Publication Date: 2005-03-04
    Presents a comprehensive illustrated history of the Holocaust in Europe during World War Two and includes a timeline and information on concentration and death camps, Jewish Ghettos, and resistance fighters.

    Cover Art
    Resistance - Charles Anflick
    Call Number: 940.53 ANT
    ISBN: 0823928470
    Publication Date: 1999-07-15
    Men and women who were teenagers during the Holocaust share their experiences of life before, during, and after the war, focusing on their efforts to resist the Nazi regime.

    Cover Art
    In the Camps - Toby Axelrod
    Call Number: 940.53 AXE
    ISBN: 0823928446
    Publication Date: 1999-07-15
    Relates the stories of Jewish teenagers who were sent to Nazi concentration camps where they were separated from their families and survived years of exhausting labor, scarce food, and cruel guards.

    Cover Art
    In the Ghettos - Eleanor H. Ayer
    ISBN: 0823928454
    Publication Date: 1999-01-01
    Chronicles the deportation of Jews into ghettos during Hitler's Third Reich and presents the narratives of three individuals who, as teenagers, lived in the ghettos of Lodz, Theresienstadt, and Warsaw and survived physical deprivations, abuse, and deportation to the death camps.

    Cover Art
    Rescuers Defying the Nazis - Toby Axelrod
    Call Number: 940.53 AXE
    ISBN: 0823928489
    Publication Date: 1999-07-15
    Relates the stories of courageous non-Jewish teenagers who rescued Jews from the Nazis.

    Cover Art
    Hidden Teens, Hidden Lives - Linda Jacobs Altman
    Call Number: 940.53 ALT
    ISBN: 076603271X
    Publication Date: 2010-03-01
    Explores the lives of children and teens who went into hiding during the Holocaust; looks at various places used as hiding spots, such as barns and attics, and different ways to hide, like assuming false identities, and how these were used as a tool to survive.

    Cover Art
    Escape - Sandra Giddens
    Call Number: 904.53 GID
    ISBN: 0823928438
    Publication Date: 1999-07-15
    Tells the stories of four teenagers who survived the horrors that the Nazis perpetrated on Jews during World War II.

    Cover Art
    Escape-Teens on the Run - Linda Jacobs Altman
    Call Number: 940.53 ALT
    ISBN: 0766032701
    Publication Date: 2010-04-01
    Stuck in an airtight boxcar on a cattle train, Eva was destined for a Nazi death camp. Eva's father told her and her two siblings to jump off the speeding train . . . maybe they could survive. Her brother and sister were both shot and killed by the Nazis. At seventeen, Eva had to live alone, on the run, to survive. Thousands of Jews lived on the run during the Holocaust. Some were able to escape Germany before the war started. Others had to move throughout Europe to flee the Nazis. And many more could not escape at all. Author Linda Jacobs Altman details the stories of young people who escaped the Nazi grasp and survived the war.

    Cover Art
    We Remember the Holocaust - David A. Adler
    Call Number: 940.53 ADL
    ISBN: 0805004343
    Publication Date: 1989-10-01
    Discusses the events of the Holocaust and includes personal accounts from survivors of their experiences of the persecution and the death camps.

    Cover Art
    The Survivors - Eleanor H. Ayer
    Call Number: 940.53 AYE
    ISBN: 1560060964
    Publication Date: 1997-06-01
    Describes the conditions of Holocaust survivors when they were liberated as well as their struggle as they attempt to rebuild their lives.

    Cover Art
    The Warsaw Ghetto Uprising - Linda Jacobs Altman
    Call Number: 940.53 ALT
    ISBN: 0766033201
    Publication Date: 2011-10-01
    Examines the Warsaw ghetto uprising, including the roots of the resistance in the Warsaw ghetto, stories from the participants in the uprising, how the battle ended, and how the small group of fighters became heroes during the Holocaust.

    Cover Art
    A History of the Holocaust - Yehuda Bauer; Nili Keren; Franklin Watts (Contribution by)
    Call Number: 940.53 BAU
    ISBN: 0531118843
    Publication Date: 2001-09-01
    Examines the causes of the Holocaust and the evolution of Nazi Jewish policy, and describes several aspects of the Holocaust including the siege of Poland, the ghettoes, the Final Solution, resistance movements, rescue operations, and the aftermath, presenting photos, statistics, maps, and excerpts from victims' and other participants' writings.

    Cover Art
    Bearing Witness - Henry L. Feingold
    Call Number: 940.53 FEI
    ISBN: 0815626703
    Publication Date: 1995-12-01
    One of America's most prominent historians probes the haunting question of why the efforts of the American government and Jewish leaders were ineffective in halting or mitigating Berlin's genocidal policy during the Holocaust. Focusing on the role of the Roosevelt administration and American Jewish leadership, Henry L. Feingold anchors the American reaction to the Holocaust in the tension-ridden domestic environment of the depression to the international scene. In these essays, he argues that the constraints of the American political system in the 1930s and 40s and the extraordinary events of the time virtually made it impossible for the administration and American Jews to react differently.

    Cover Art
    The Holocaust - Seymour Rossell
    Call Number: 940.53 ROS
    ISBN: 0531106748
    Publication Date: 1990-01-01
    Discusses the historical background, from the Treaty of Versailles through Hitler's rise to power, that led to the horrible and systematic slaughter of millions of Jews by the Nazis during World War II.

    Cover Art
    Daily Life During the Holocaust - Carol D. Schulz; Eve Nussbaum Soumerai
    Call Number: 940.53 SOU
    ISBN: 0313302022
    Publication Date: 1998-11-30
    Draws from journals, diaries, photographs, poetry, and personal testimonies of Holocaust victims, as well as documents of the Nazi regime, to provide information about the day-to-day lives of Jews and others who were persecuted by the Nazis.

    Cover Art
    The Holocaust - Seymour Rossel
    Call Number: 940.53 ROS
    ISBN: 0531043517
    Publication Date: 1981-10-01
    Discusses how, between 1938 and 1945, the Nazis planned and carried out a program of extermination against the Jews of Europe now known as the Holocaust, and how the Holocaust continues to affect our everyday lives.

    Cover Art
    The Final Solution - Earle Rice
    Call Number: 940.53 RIC
    ISBN: 1560060956
    Publication Date: 1997-09-01
    Discusses the origins, development, and implementation of the Final Solution, in which six million Jews were systematically exterminated by the Nazis during World War II.

    Cover Art
    The Righteous Gentiles - Victoria Sherrow
    Call Number: 940.53 SHE
    ISBN: 156006093X
    Publication Date: 1997-10-01
    Presents an overview of non-Jews throughout Europe who tried to save Jews from persecution and extermination by the Nazis.

    Cover Art
    My Father Bleeds History - Art Spiegelman
    Call Number: 940.53 SPI
    ISBN: 0394747232
    Publication Date: 1986-08-12
    A memoir about Vladek Spiegleman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and about his son, a cartoonist who tries to come to terms with his father, his story, and with history itself. Cartoon format portrays Jews as mice and Nazis as cats.

    Cover Art
    Darkness over Denmark - Ellen Levine
    Call Number: 940.53 LEV
    ISBN: 0823414477
    Publication Date: 2000-01-01
    An account of people in Denmark who risked their lives to protect and rescue their Jewish neighbors from the Nazis during World War II.

    Cover Art
    Art from the Ashes - Lawrence L. Langer
    Call Number: 940.53 ART
    ISBN: 0195075595
    Publication Date: 1995-01-19
    Even as the movie Schindler's List attracted crowds and awards, it sparked a serious public debate: how could a Hollywood director, someone so far from the Holocaust, capture it on film? Indeed, could anyone capture this staggeringly apocalyptic experience in art? In Art from the Ashes, Lawrence L. Langer shows how, over the last fifty years, artists and writers have tried to come to grips with this monumental horror.
    Art from the Ashes provides the most far-reaching collection of art, drama, poetry, and prose about the Holocaust ever presented in a single volume. Through the works of men and women, Jews and non-Jews, figures famous and unknown, those who were there and those separated from the ordeal by time and space, this anthology offers a vision of the human reality of the catastrophe. Essays by familiar writers like Primo Levi and Elie Wiesel accompany lesser-known efforts by Yankiel Wiernik and Frantisek Kraus; stories by Tadeusz Borowski and Ida Fink join fiction by neglected authors such as Isaiah Spiegel and Adolf Rudnicki; and extensive selections appear from the work of six poets--the renowned Paul Celan, Nelly Sachs, and Abraham Sutzkever along with the less celebrated Dan Pagis, Jacob Glatstein, and Miklos Radnoti. Each selection (except for self-contained excerpts from ghetto journals and diaries) appears here in its complete form. Langer also includes in their entirety a novel by Aharon Appelfeld, a novella by Pierre Gascar, and Joshua Sobol's controversial drama Ghetto. In addition, this volume features a visual essay in the form of reproductions of twenty works of art created in the Terezin concentration camp--which, as Langer notes, "further enrich and complicate our confrontation with the physical, moral, psychological, and emotional disruptions with which the Holocaust challenges us."
    The stunning immensity of the Holocaust looms over the twentieth century, overshadowing all our efforts to make sense of it. Art from the Ashes begins to pry open its mysteries, with outstanding selections collected by one of our finest commentators on the era.

    Cover Art
    Youth Destroyed-The Nazi Camps - Ann Byers
    Call Number: 940.53 BYE
    ISBN: 0766032736
    Publication Date: 2010-04-01
    Discusses the experiences of children and teens in concentration camps during the Holocaust, including the first camps in Germany, the forced labor camps, the six death camps, and the aftermath.

    Cover Art
    Trapped-Youth in the Nazi Ghettos - Ann Byers
    Call Number: 940.53 BYE
    ISBN: 0766032728
    Publication Date: 2010-04-01
    Examines the lives of Jewish children and teens in the ghettos during the Holocaust, including the formation of the ghettos, the miserable conditions, hard labor, and the deportations to camps.

    Cover Art
    Kindertransport - Olga L. Drucker
    Call Number: 940.53 DRU
    ISBN: 0805017119
    Publication Date: 1992-11-01
    The author describes the circumstances in Germany after Hitler came to power that led to the evacuation of many Jewish children to England and her experiences as a young girl in England during World War II.

    Cover Art
    Auschwitz - Clive A. Lawton
    Call Number: 940.53 LAW
    ISBN: 0763615951
    Publication Date: 2002-07-22
    A description of what happened at Auschwitz, a concentration camp in Poland used during World War II by the Nazis to gather and murder many people, mostly Jews.

    Cover Art
    The Hidden Children of the Holocaust - Esther Kustanowitz
    Call Number: 940.53 KUS
    ISBN: 0823925625
    Publication Date: 1999-07-15
    Details the experiences of five Jewish teenagers who hid from the Nazis during World War II, also describing their lives after the war.

    Cover Art
    The Nazis - William W. Lace
    Call Number: 940.53 LAC
    ISBN: 1560060913
    Publication Date: 1997-01-01
    A history of the Nazi movement in Germany beginning in 1919 with the German Workers' Party and including discussion of Adolf Hitler, anti-Semitism, and World War II.

    Cover Art
    The Death Camps - William W. Lace
    Call Number: 940.53 LAC
    ISBN: 1560060948
    Publication Date: 1997-09-01
    Describes the establishment of concentration camps throughout Nazi-occupied territory whose sole purpose was to exterminate Jews and other people considered undesirable by Hitler and his followers.

    Cover Art
    The History of the Holocaust - Howard J. Langer (Editor)
    Call Number: 940.53 LAN
    ISBN: 076575956X
    Publication Date: 1997-03-01
    A collection of quotations that chronicles the Holocaust from the early anti-Semitic teachings to the post-Holocaust observations; includes information on the rise of the Nazi movement, the formation of the German Workers Party, and the Nuremberg and Eichmann trials.

    Cover Art
    Hitler's Willing Executioners - Daniel Jonah Goldhagen
    Call Number: 940.53 GOL
    ISBN: 0679446958
    Publication Date: 1996-03-19
    A study of how and why the Holocaust occurred, presenting the author's conclusions about the perpetrators of the Holocaust, German antisemitism, and the nature of German society during the Nazi period, arguing that the German people were willing participants in the brutalization and murder of Jews.

    Cover Art
    And God Cried - Charles Lawliss
    Call Number: 940.53 LAW
    ISBN: 157215036x
    Publication Date: 1994-01-01
    The Holocaust was the deliberate, methodical killing of six million Jews by Nazi Germany. Its aim was the complete eradication of Jews from Europe, and it nearly succeeded. Here, in all its horrible fascination, is the Holocaust, the Final Solution to the Jewish problem, from the rise of Adolf Hitler through the slaughter in the death camps, to the trials of the Nazi criminals who ran them.

    Cover Art
    Smoke and Ashes - Barbara Rogasky
    Call Number: 940.53 ROG
    ISBN: 0823406970
    Publication Date: 1988-03-01
    Examines the causes, events, and legacies of the Holocaust which resulted in the extermination of six million Jews.

    Cover Art
    Anti-Semitism and the Final Solution - Ann Byers
    Call Number: 940.53 BYE
    ISBN: 9780766061934
    Publication Date: 2014-09-01
    Fanatical anti-Semitism and the persecution of Jews ended in the Holocaust's horrific legacythe murder of nearly 6 million Jews. In ANTI-SEMITISM AND THE "FINAL SOLUTION": THE HOLOCAUST OVERVIEW, author Ann Byers analyzes the factors that led to the persecution of Jews, as well as the rise and fall of Hitler's Third Reich.

    Cover Art
    Warsaw, Lodz, Vilna - Linda Jacobs Altman
    Call Number: 940.53 ALT
    ISBN: 9780766062078
    Publication Date: 2014-09-01
    Ghettos were set up by the Nazis to isolate and segregate Jews from other members of the population. Author Linda Jacobs Altman details the hardships of ghetto life under Nazi rule in WARSAW, LODZ, VILNA: THE HOLOCAUST GHETTOS. Set up in many countries including Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Belorussia, and Czechoslovakia, the author describes how the Jews kept alive their cultural and religious lives despite the poverty and hardships of ghetto life. Also included are accounts of the revolts by those who dared to fight back.

    Cover Art
    Schindler, Wallenberg, Miep Gies - David K. Fremon
    Call Number: 950.53 FRE
    ISBN: 9780766062177
    Publication Date: 2014-09-01
    The heroes of the Holocaust were individuals who risked their own lives to save thousands of Jews from certain death. In SCHINDLER, WALLENBERG, MIEP GIES: THE HOLOCAUST HEROES, author David K. Fremon recounts the actions some people took to save the lives of thousands of people trying to escape from the Nazis and their deadly persecution. Some heroes are now famous, but many unknown heroes took action to forge false identity papers, leave out food for refugees, and hide Jews in their homes.

    Cover Art
    Weisel, Wiesenthal, Klarsfeld - Tabatha Yeatts
    Call Number: 940.53 YEA
    ISBN: 9780766062023
    Publication Date: 2014-09-01
    Two out of every three Jews in Europe died in the Holocaust. For those who survived, life continued to be bleak after the war since they had neither homes nor families to which they could return. Author Tabatha Yeatts tells the harsh stories of those who lived through the Holocaust concentrating on the aftermaths effect on survivors. The fate of many Nazi war criminals is described as well.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip