This is the "Home" page of the "Photojournalism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Photojournalism   Tags: american history, journalism, photojournalism  

This page is for the Current Event Photojournalism project.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/photojournalism Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

E4 Essay Assignment Week of October 7, 2013

Current Events Photojournalism

A. Find a photograph taken by William Henry Jackson and write a two-paragraphs essay: (1) in the first paragraph, explain the story of the photograph;  (2) in the second paragraph explain:

  • The camera angle;
  • The image size and the cropping of the subject matter.
  • Your estimate of the shutter speed
  • Your estimate of the aperture
  • What focus was used. whether there was a large or small depth of field and what is the center of interest.

B. Research question:  William Henry Jackson

  • What famous American character symbol was he related to?
  • How did he become amember of the geologic survey to explore the Yellowstone region and what influence did it have on the region?
  • What were the types of cameras he used and what were the challenges they posed?
  • What two other careers did WIlliam have?
  • What famous movie was he hired to advise?
  • He is honored as one of the last surviving veterans of what battle?
      
     

    E3 Essay Assignment Week of October 1, 2013

    Current Events Photojournalism

    A. Find a current event picture and write a two-paragraphs essay: (1) in the first paragraph, explain the story of the photograph;  (2) in the second paragraph explain:

    • The camera angle;
    • The image size and the cropping of the subject matter.
    • Your estimate of the shutter speed
    • Your estimate of the aperture
    • What focus was used. whether there was a large or small depth of field and what is the center of interest.

    B. Research question: Mathew B. Brady (ca. 1822 - January 15, 1896) was one of the most celebrated 19th century American photographers, best known for his portraits of celebrities and his documentation of the American Civil War. He is credited with being the father of photojournalism. Please answer the following questions in a written paragraph:

    • Points to be explored in your paragraph essay are:
      1. What  was Brady's connection to Daguerre?
      2. What is an albumen print and what did Brady shoot with this process?
      3. What did Brady publish that gained him fame?
      4. How did Brady go bankrupt?
      5. Why is he considered the father of photojournalism?
     

    E2 Essay Assignment Week of September 16, 2013

    Current Events Photojournalism

    A. Find a current event picture and write a two-paragraphs essay: (1) in the first paragraph, explain the story of the photograph;  (2) in the second paragraph explain:

    • The photographer's point of view, the angle of the camera;
    • The image size (how is it cropped);
    • What is the center of interest and what background is included?
    • How is shot, shutter speed and aperture estimated;
    • Depth of field, how much is in focus.

    B. Research question: What application of photography pushed its development and breakthrough from a medium of documentation to that of an art form?

    • Topic: Count Sergei Lvovich Levitsky (1819 - 1898) is considered one of the patriarchs of Russian photography and one of Europe's most important early photographic pioneers, inventors and innovators.
    • Points to be explored in your essay are:
      1. What application of photography pushed its development?
      2. The lens invention still used today?
      3. How did he manipulate his subjects and the way they were photographed?
      4. Why do you think he won a gold medal for his work?
      5. Why is his work so scare and where can it be found now?
     

    E1 Essay Assignment Week of September 9, 2013

    Current Events Photojournalism


    Find a current event picture and write a two-part essay describing (a) the event and (b) analyzing the visual impact of the image.

    Research Topic: Who, when and why took the first photographs? Please research this question and write your response in an essay form at least half a page in length.

    Online Databases

    • ABC-CLIO
      A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
    • Biography in Context
      Contains articles from encyclopedias, books, and other reference sources on thousands of significant and lesser-known individuals. Sources include: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, and the International Dictionary of Art and Artists.
    • Discovering Collection
      Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
    • EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
      Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.

    E4 William Henry Jackson

    E3 Photojournalism Resources

    Use these resources to help you answer questions about Mathew B. Brady.

    E2 Photojournalism Resources

    E1 Photojournalism Resources

     

    Photojournalism

    Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

     

    Sweet Search

     

    Go to School Catalog

    Find:
    Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
    Advanced Search
     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Submit a Link

    Have a great link to share with your classmates? Submit it below and it could appear on this guide. Hooray for collaboration!

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip