This is the "Psychologists" page of the "Eckert - Historically significant psychologists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Eckert - Historically significant psychologists   Tags: psychology  

Famous psychologists and their contributions to the field of psychology. This site shows their leadership qualities and the effects of such leadership.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2015 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/psychologists Print Guide RSS Updates

Psychologists Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

  • Greek Philosphers  on Psychology (Plato, Artistotle, Socrates etc)
  • Wilhelm Wundt (father of psychology)
  • Rene Descartes (nativism and rationalism)
  • Franz Joseph Gall and Johann Spurzheim (phrenology)
  • Hermann von Helmholtz, Ernst Weber, or Gustav Theodor Fechner (psychophysics)
  • Edward Bradford Titchner (structuralism)
  • Margaret Floy Washburn, Christine Ladd-Franklin, Bluma Zeigarnik, Mary Whitin Calkins, or Karen Horney (female pioneers)
  • William James, G. Stanley Hall, and James M. Cattell (functionalism)
  • Charles Darwin (as his work relates to psychology)
  • John B. Watson (behaviorism)
  • Sigmund Freud (psychoanalysis)
  • Abraham Maslow (humanist)
  • Alfred Binet (intelligence testing)
  • Noam Chomsky or Ulric Neisser (cognitive psychology)

    Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Online Resources

    • ABC-CLIO
      A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
    • ABC-CLIO's eBooks
      Unlimited access and use eBooks from ABC-CLIO.
    • Biography in Context
      Contains articles from encyclopedias, books, and other reference sources on thousands of significant and lesser-known individuals. Sources include: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, and the International Dictionary of Art and Artists.
    • Discovering Collection
      Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
    • EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
      Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.

      Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
      The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
    • Grolier Online
      Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
    • Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia eBook
      An authoritative reference survey of the modern age of scientific discovery, Science in the Contemporary World is a scholarly yet accessible chronicle of scientific achievement from the discovery of penicillin to the latest developments in space exploration and cloning.

      Over 200 A–Z entries cover the full spectrum of contemporary science, with emphasis on its diverse nature. Within the last 50 years, medicine has eradicated the killer disease smallpox, but primarily because the virus can live only in humans. Space probes have revealed that on Europa, a moon of Jupiter, an ice-capped ocean with the potential to support life probably exists. Marvels from animal psychology and deep-sea exploration are also explored extensively.

    Alfred Binet

    Alfred Binet

    The French psychologist Alfred Binet (1857-1911) was the founder of French experimental psychology. He devised tests for measuring intelligence that have been widely used in schools.

    Noam Chomsky and Ulric Neisser

    Noam Avram Chomsky Story image

    Noam Chomsky (1928 -) is an American linguist and philosopher who is responsible for the theory of transformational grammar. Known as the father of cognitive psychology, Ulric Neisser (1928 - 2012) revolutionized the discipline by challenging behaviorist theory and endeavoring to discover how the mind thinks and works. He was particularly interested in memory and perception.

    Charles Darwin

    Charles Darwin (1809-1882)

    The English naturalist Charles Robert Darwin (1809 - 1882) discovered that natural selection was the agent for the transmutation of organisms during evolution.

    Rene Descartes

    Rene Descartes

    The French thinker René Descartes (1596 - 1650) is called the father of modern philosophy. He initiated the movement generally termed rationalism, and his Discourse on Method and Meditations defined the basic problems of philosophy for at least a century.

    Greek Philosophers

    Greek Philosopher Plato (428-348 B.C.) Aristotle Socrates (c. 470-c.399 B.C.)


    Plato (428 BCE - 348 BCE), Aristotle (384 BCE - 322 BCE) and Socrates (470 BCE - 399 BCE) were Greek philosophers who pushed the boundaries of philosophy.

    Sigmund Freud

    Sigmund Freud

    The work of Sigmund Freud (1856 - 1939), the Austrian founder of psychoanalysis, marked the beginning of a modern, dynamic psychology by providing the first systematic explanation of the inner mental forces determining human behavior.

    Franz Joseph Gall & Johann Spurzheim

     http://www.whitmanarchive.org/archive1/classroom/student_projects/raglas/gall.gif

    The German physiologist Franz Joseph Gall (1758-1828) is remembered mostly for his association with the now-discredited science of phrenology, or the study of brain function through examination of the shape of the head. Born and educated in Austria, Johann Spurzheim (1776 - 1832) assisted Gall in the study of brain injuries, and he developed an interest in women accused of infanticide.

    Hermann von Helmholtz, Ernst Heinrich Weber

    Hermann Ludwig Ferdinand von Helmholtz

    The German physicist and physiologist Hermann Ludwig Ferdinand von Helmholtz (1821-1894) made the first mathematical analysis of the principle of the conservation of energy and invented the ophthalmoscope. He also investigated the physics of tone and color perception. Ernst Heinrich Weber (1795 - 1878) made important discoveries about the sense of touch and invented the idea of the just-noticeable difference between two similar physical stimuli. He founded psychophysics, the branch of psychology that studies the relations between physical stimuli and mental states. Gustav Theodor Fechner (1801 - 1887), a German philosopher, was the founder of psychophysics, and a pioneer in experimental psychology.

    William James, G. Stanley Hall, and James M. Cattell (functionalism)

    The American philosopher and psychologist William James (1842-1910) is considered America's major philosopher and one of the great psychologists of all times. American psychologist and educator Granville Stanley Hall (1844-1924) pioneered in developing psychology in the United States. His wide-ranging and prolific writings reveal a central theme best characterized as genetic psychology or evolutionism. American psychologist and editor James McKeen Cattell (1860-1944) was a pioneer in American psychology who influenced the profession to use objective methods of study and to apply psychology to practical aspects of life.

    Edward Bradford Titchner

    American psychologist Edward Bradford Titchener (1867 - 1927) was the head of the structural school of psychology. Structuralism was based on the notion that the object of psychology is to analyze consciousness into its basic elements and investigate how these elements are related.

    Abraham Maslow

    Abraham Maslow (1908 - 1970) is considered to be the father of humanistic psychology and a cofounder of transpersonal psychology.

    Margaret Mead

    Margaret Mead.

    Margaret Mead,  (born Dec. 16, 1901, Philadelphia, Pa., U.S.—died Nov. 15, 1978, New York, N.Y.), American anthropologist whose great fame owed as much to the force of her personality and her outspokenness as it did to the quality of her scientific work.

    • Biography of Margaret Mead
      From Britannica, this is a biography of Margaret Mead.
    • Another biography of Margaret Mead
      From Biography in Context, this is another biography of Margaret Mead
    • Biography of Margaret Mead
      Margaret Mead was arguably the most renowned anthropologist of all time, contributing to the development of the discipline, as well as, introducing its insights to thousands of people outside the academy.
    • Another biography of Margaret Mead
      From the Women's Intellectual Contributions to the Study of Mind and Society, this is a biography of Margaret Mead.
    • Extraordinary teacher offers extraordinary look at her job
      An extraordinary teacher writes an extraordinary explanation of her job and her concerns. This is a lengthy piece that every policymaker in the state ought to read.
    • Book review of Going Native
      This is a book review from the New York Times. For most of us, Mead’s name no longer automatically conjures what one biographer termed “steamy things that happened in torrid, languid jungles.” But her life was rich with incident and, on one occasion at least, may have conformed to this description.
    • American icon: at the centenary of her birth, Margaret Mead is remembered as the world's most influential anthropologist
      An article from Natural History about Margaret Mead's impact a hundred years after her birth.
    • The trashing of Margaret Mead: how Derek Freeman fooled us all
      THROUGHOUT THE 1980S AND 1990S, anthropologist Derek Freeman waged a tireless campaign against Margaret Mead, claiming that the famous American anthropologist had been hoaxed by her Samoan informants. He alleged that Samoan women innocently joked with Mead about their private lives, but that she sincerely believed what they said, and subsequently published it as the truth in Coming of Age in Samoa.
    • A FOUR-FOLD HUMANITY: MARGARET MEAD AND PSYCHOLOGICAL TYPES
      Beginning in 1933, while working in New Guinea, Margaret Mead developed her so-called squares hypothesis. Mead’s hypothe- sis was, therefore, a vision of the unity and diversity of a single human species as well as an approach to the differing psychological positioning of individuals in cultures. In exam- ining Mead’s hypothesis, this essay also takes up Mead’s debts to several leading psychologists, and (provisionally) how her vision dif- fered from that of Ruth Benedict.
    • Rereading Sex and Temperament: Margaret Mead's Sepik Triptych and its Ethnographic Critics
      Margaret Mead was not then just interested in assessing the contribution of culture to defining gender stereotypes, as temperaments are now known, but she really wanted to encounter and study a culture in which the emotions ordinarily associated with men and women contrasted with one another as well as with those in the West.

    John B. Watson

     

    John Broadus Watson (1878 - 1958) is considered the father of behaviorism due to his opposition to the mainstream psychological view of the unconscious and psychoanalytic thought.  To the behaviorist, the outward expression of the self is all that can be measured and therefore the only variable worthy of exploration.

    Wilhelm Wundt

    Wilhelm Max Wundt

    Wilhelm Wundt (1832 - 1920) is famous for founding experimental psychology, establishing the first experimental psychology laboratory, and training several generations of important American and European psychologists.

    Women Pioneers

    bzeigarnik

    Margaret Floy Washburn (1871 –1939), leading American psychologist in the early 20th century, was best known for her experimental work in animal behavior and motor theory development. She was the first woman to be granted a PhD in psychology (1894), and the second woman, after Mary Whiton Calkins, to serve as an APA President (1921). Christine Ladd-Franklin(1847 – 1930) was an American psychologist, logician, and mathematician and created the theory of color vision, based on evolution. Bluma Wulfovna Zeigarnik (1901 –1988) was a Soviet psychologist and psychiatrist, a member of Berlin School of experimental psychology and Vygotsky Circle. She discovered the Zeigarnik effect and contributed to the establishment of experimental psychopathology as a separate discipline in the Soviet Union in the after-World War II period. Mary Whiton Calkins (1863 - 1930) was an American philosopher and psychologist and she was the first woman to become president of the American Psychological Association. Karen Danielsen Horney (1885 - 1952) was a German psychoanalyst who practiced in the United States during her later career. Her theories questioned some traditional Freudian views.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip