Shakers are known for their celibate and communal lifestyle, pacifism, as well as their model of equality of the sexes.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2014
A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
- ABC-CLIO's eBooks
Unlimited access and use eBooks from ABC-CLIO.
- Biography in Context
Contains articles from encyclopedias, books, and other reference sources on thousands of significant and lesser-known individuals. Sources include: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, and the International Dictionary of Art and Artists.
- Discovering Collection
Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
- EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.
Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
- Grolier Online
Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
The Shakers, or the United Society of Believers in Christ's Second Appearance, represent one of the most successful utopian communities in American history. Although their last remaining community currently numbers less than ten members, the Shakers have maintained a utopian presence in the United States for over two hundred years. One of the secrets of their success seems to be the fact that while they have lived since the 18th century by a set of basic tenets, they have always believed in constant re velation from the spirit world, and they never operated under the elaborate sets of rules that some less successful utopian communities imposed upon their members.
- The Shakers
From Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, this is another description of the Shakers.
- History of the Shakers
Also known as the United Society of Believers in Christ's Second Coming, the Shakers began as a group that splintered from a Quaker community in Manchester, England. They were viewed as radicals and named for the impassioned shaking that would occur at their services. This article is from ABC-CLIO.
- Overview of the Shakers
From the University of Virginia, this is an overview of the Shakers and their beliefs.
- Who were the Shakers?
This is a good reference article from ABC-CLIO on who the Shakers were.
- Another overview of the Shakers
From Britannica, this is another overview of the Shakers.
- The Shakers, the Oneida community, and the law
From Religion and the Law in America: An Encyclopedia of Personal Belief and Public Policy, this is an article on the Shakers and their place in society.
- Medicine and the Shakers
From Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine: Old World and New World Traditions, this is a short article on the folk medicine used by the Shakers.
- The Shaker Family
From The Family in America: An Encyclopedia, this is an article that explains how the Shaker family worked.
- Shaker villages
From the Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs, this is a description of Shaker villages.
- Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill.
Presents information on the Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill in Harrodsburg, Kentucky. Sources of livelihood of Shaker missionaries; Features; Contact information.