This is the "Supreme Court Cases" page of the "Supreme Court" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Supreme Court   Tags: aamerican history, constitution, social studies  

Supreme Court cases which changed or affected the rights of Americans.
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2014 URL: http://ma.sau45.libguides.com/supreme Print Guide RSS Updates

Supreme Court Cases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment

    Citation and Plagiarism Resources on the Internet

     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


     

    Supreme Court Books

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States - Kermit L. Hall (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor); Joel B. Grossman (Editor); William M. Wiecek (Editor)
    Call Number: 347.73 OXF
    ISBN: 0195058356
    Publication Date: 1992-11-12
    Guide to the United States Supreme Court containing more than a thousand alphabetically arranged entries.

    Cover Art
    Furman vs. Georgia - Burt Henson; Ross R. Oln
    Call Number: 345.75 HEN
    ISBN: 0531112853
    Publication Date: 1996-09-01
    Discusses the history of capital punishment, explains the United States Supreme Court's decision in Furman v. Georgia, and explores the impact of this case.

    Cover Art
    The Death Penalty - Jean Alicia Elster
    Call Number: 345.73 DEA
    ISBN: 0737719117
    Publication Date: 2004-09-17
    Presents a collection of essays that provide arguments for and against the death penalty in the United States, using both primary and secondary sources to support each position--speeches, court cases, newspaper accounts--it examines the way the attitudes toward the death have changed, or remained the same, throughout history.

    Cover Art
    Roe v. Wade - Deborah S. Romaine
    Call Number: 342.73 ROM
    ISBN: 1560062746
    Publication Date: 1998-01-01
    Discusses the Roe v. Wade ruling which many feel is one of the most controversial decisions the Supreme Court has ever rendered.

    Cover Art
    Roe vs. Wade - Nancy Tompkins
    Call Number: 344.73 TOM
    ISBN: 0531112861
    Publication Date: 1996-09-01
    Examines the individuals and the issues involved in the landmark U.S. Supreme Court case which legalized abortion.

    Cover Art
    Roe Vs. Wade (1973) - Susan D. Gold
    Call Number: 344.73 GOL
    ISBN: 0805036598
    Publication Date: 1997-12-09
    Text and photographs discuss the landmark Supreme Court decision of 1973 that ruled on women's right to abort a pregnancy.

    Online Resources

    • ABC-CLIO
      A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
    • Discovering Collection
      Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
    • EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
      Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.

      Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
      The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
    • Grolier Online
      Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
    • The United States Supreme Court
      The official site of the Supreme Court of the United States.

    Brown v. Entertainment Merchants Association (2010)

    From OYEZDoes the First Amendment bar a state from restricting the sale of violent video games to minors?

    District of Columbia v. Heller (2007)

    From OYEZ: Whether provisions of the D.C. Code generally barring the registration of handguns, prohibiting carrying a pistol without a license, and requiring all lawful firearms to be kept unloaded and either disassembled or trigger locked violate the Second Amendment rights of individuals who are not affiliated with any state-regulated militia, but who wish to keep handguns and other firearms for private use in their homes?

    FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco (1999)

    From OYEZ: Does the Food and Drug Administration have the authority to regulate tobacco products as "drugs" and "devices" under the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act?

    • Judgment of the Supreme Court on FDA v. Brown and Williamson Tobacco
      The official judgment of the Supreme Court on FDA v. Brown and Williamson Tobacco.
    • Summary of FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco
      A summary of the case along with links to oral arguments.
    • FDA v. Brown and Williamson Tobacco
      This pdf article provides a summary and background information on this case.
    • Perspective on FDA v. Brown and Williamson Tobacco
      This pdf article presents a lawyer's perspective on the Supreme Court ruling on FDA v. Brown and Williamson Tobacco
    • Food & Drug Administration v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco
      Food & Drug Administration v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. By: Steiner, Heather, Ecology Law Quarterly, 00461121, 2001, Vol. 28, Issue 2. The United States Supreme Court invalidated the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) attempt to regulate tobacco under the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FDCA). The significance of this decision for environmental purposes is in the Court's altered application of the long-standing two-step Chevron Doctrine. Rather than turn to the plain meaning of the statute, the Court expanded Chevron's first step to include the "context" of the regulatory scheme. By expanding the interpretive tools under Chevron's step one, the Court could determine Congressional intent without having to reach the "reasonableness" of the FDA's decision under step two. Without the deference principle typically afforded under Chevron's second step, attempts by environmental agencies to assert authority in uncharted areas of regulation may be significantly jeopardized.

    Furman v. Georgia, Jackson v. Georgia (1971)

    In Furman v. Georgiathe Supreme Court held in a per curiam decision that in the cases before it, the imposition and carrying out of the death penalty constituted cruel and unusual punishment in violation of the eighth and fourteenth amendments. In so ruling, the Court departed from its earlier decisions that had tacitly approved the death penalty as constitutional and extended its previous decisions defining cruel and unusual punishments.

    Gonzalez v. Raich (2004)

    From OYEZ: Does the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 801) exceed Congress' power under the commerce clause as applied to the intrastate cultivation and possession of marijuana for medical use?

    Horne v. Department of Agriculture (2013)

    From OYEZ: Can the Takings Clause be used as a defense in actions regarding a government-mandated transfer of funds? If so, does the Unites States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit have jurisdiction over the case?

    McDonald v. City of Chicago (2009)

    From OYEZ: Does the Second Amendment apply to the states because it is incorporated by the Fourteenth Amendment's Privileges and Immunities or Due Process clauses and thereby made applicable to the states?

    • Judgment of the Supreme Court on McDonald v. Chicago
      The official judgment of the Supreme Court on McDonald v. Chicago, as a pdf file (35 pages).
    • Summary of McDonald v. City of Chicago
      A summary of the case along with links to oral arguments.
    • Which Standard of Scrutiny Should Apply to Gun-Control Laws?
      In this debate, Professors Rosenthal and Malcolm debate the standard of scrutiny that the Supreme Court should apply to restrictions on the Second Amendment in the wake of its recent decision, McDonald v. City of Chicago. Professor Rosenthal begins Part I by noting the importance of gun-control laws to police; he considers a lower standard of scrutiny necessary to allow law enforcement officials to protect the community. Turning to the practical consequences of Chicago and Washington, D.C.'s recent gun-control laws, which make owning a gun nearly impossible in those cities, Professor Malcolm argues for a standard of strict scrutiny for all gun-control laws in Part II. Finally, in Part III, Professor Rosenthal replies.
    • Discussion of the decision
      In this pdf article, the author discusses the case in McDonald v. City of Chicago and an analysis of the Supreme Court's decision.
    • American Spectator. Sep2010, Vol. 43 Issue 7, p22-26. 5p.
      From EbscoHost: This article discusses the court case McDonald vs. City of Chicago wherein the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution guarantees the right to bear arms against infringement by states and localities. The case challenged the city's implementation of an almost complete ban on handgun ownership in 1982. With the Supreme Court's decision, the Chicago city council modified its handgun ordinance to limit the use of guns for legitimate self-defense, and impose difficult gun ownership requirements.

    Perry v. Sindermann (1971)

    From OYEZ: Robert Sindermann had been a professor at Odessa Junior College for four years, working under one-year contracts. After his election as president of the Texas Junior College Teachers Association, he had several public disagreements with the Odessa Junior College Board of Regents. In May 1969, after the expiration of his teaching contract, Sindermann was not offered a new contract and terminated by the college's Board of Regents. While the Board of Regents did issue a press release accusing him of insubordination, they did not provide official reasons for his termination or the option of a hearing for him to challenge his termination. Sindermann filed suit in the United States District Court for the Western District of Texas. He alleged that his termination was due to his disagreements with the Board of Regents, a violation of his First Amendment right to free speech, and that the lack of a hearing violated his Fourteenth Amendment right to due process. The District Court ruled for the Board of Regents without a full trial. He appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, which held that his termination would have been unconstitutional if it was based on his exercise of free speech or if he had a reasonable expectation of continued employment. The Fifth Circuit remanded the case to the District Court.

    Roe v. Wade (1971)

    From OYEZDoes the Constitution embrace a woman's right to terminate her pregnancy by abortion?

    US v. Lopez (1994)

    From OYEZ: Is the 1990 Gun-Free School Zones Act, forbidding individuals from knowingly carrying a gun in a school zone, unconstitutional because it exceeds the power of Congress to legislate under the Commerce Clause?

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip