Trench warfare had a horrific impact on the people who lived through it and who fought in it.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2014
The War to End All Wars
Call Number: 940.3 FRE
Publication Date: 2010-08-28
A narrative history of World War I for young readers that features archival photographs, and describes how advanced military weaponry impacted the course of the war.
Atlas of World War I
Call Number: 940.4 GIL at Moultonborough Public Library
Publication Date: 1994-08-04
This outstanding historical atlas from Martin Gilbert offers a definitive visual history of World War I. In 164 finely detailed, easy-to-read maps, it covers the origins of the war, the quarrels of the great European powers and the mobilization of 1914, plus the major battles and all the individual campaigns--including the war at sea and in the air--putting them in the wider context of strategy. Beyond its thorough and precise military coverage, the atlas also explores the diplomatic, economic, and social aspects of the conflict, and many of the maps--such as a map of German food riots in 1916, a state-by-state map of opposition to the war in the United States in April, 1917, or a map analyzing India's manpower contribution to war--have put together normally scattered and diverse information with exceptional clarity. A final section of maps explores the political, economic, and human aftermath of the war.
The First World War
Call Number: 940.3 KEE at the Moultonborough Public Library
Publication Date: 1999-05-11
The First World War created the modern world. A conflict of unprecedented ferocity, it abruptly ended the relative peace and prosperity of the Victorian era, unleashing such demons of the twentieth century as mechanized warfare and mass death. It also helped to usher in the ideas that have shaped our times--modernism in the arts, new approaches to psychology and medicine, radical thoughts about economics and society--and in so doing shattered the faith in rationalism and liberalism that had prevailed in Europe since the Enlightenment.
World War I
Call Number: 940.3 MAR
Publication Date: 2001-01-12
WORLD WAR I takes us from the first shots in Sarajevo to the signing of the peace treaty in Versailles and through every bunker, foxhole, and minefield in between. General S.L.A. Marshall drew on his unique firsthand experience as a soldier and a lifetime of military service to pen this forthright, forward-thinking history of what people once believed would be the last great war.
An Album of World War I
Call Number: 940.3 HOD
Publication Date: 1976-03-01
An account of World War I including its causes, campaigns and battles, outcome, peace treaty, and effects.
American Heritage History of World War I
Call Number: 940.3 MAR
Publication Date: 1988-07-16
This book covers the facts surrounding the beginning as well as the undertaking of The Great War also known as World War I. The pictures alone make the book outstanding, but the objectiveness of the way the material was handled make this book a must read for historical buffs and those desiring to know everything about this war. No type of mistake is covered up and no hero, including Alvin York is overlooked. The coverage of the officers from that day who became the next war's generals is superb.
A collection of databases dealing with all aspects of social studies including US and world history, government, and geography. Also includes how others lived their daily lives throughout history.
- ABC-CLIO's eBooks
Unlimited access and use eBooks from ABC-CLIO.
- Biography in Context
Contains articles from encyclopedias, books, and other reference sources on thousands of significant and lesser-known individuals. Sources include: Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, and the International Dictionary of Art and Artists.
- Discovering Collection
Searches reference books for geography & cultures, science, history, literature, current biographies, authors, & the like. Also has a multimedia section with audio, video, & still images, as well as a searchable timeline feature.
- EbscoHost (Student Resource Center)
Contains ALL of EbscoHost's full text articles from popular magazines, research periodicals, national newspapers, thousands of biographies, millions of images, and over 100,000 primary source documents.
Click on Student Resource Center for easiest navigation.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
- Grolier Online
Grolier Online is an integrated reference portal. With over 55 million words, 50,000 websites, and several hundred thousand magazine articles, finding authoritative, age- appropriate and subject-specific information is easy. Users have access to award-winning databases, special features, multimedia presentations, an interactive atlas, dictionaries, and much more. Grolier Online provides resources tailored specifically for teachers and students, all contained within a structured and monitored environment.
- Digital History
A vast amount of information on American history is available here.
- Gilder Lehrman Collection
This website features more than 60,000 unique historical documents in the Gilder Lehrman Collection
- The Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
The Library's mission is to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people.
- British Pathé's videos footage of World War I
A great selection of 21 films produced during the First World War by the British film agency Pathé.
- A short summary of World War I
From ABC-CLIO, this is a short summary of World War I.
- Overview of World War I
From Britannica, this is an extensive entry for background information on World War I.
- Another overview of World War I
Another overview of World War I.
- Trench warfare
trench warfare, A British soldier inside a trench on the Western Front during World War I, 1914–18. [Credit: Hulton Archive/Getty Images]warfare in which opposing armed forces attack, counterattack, and defend from relatively permanent systems of trenches dug into the ground. The opposing systems of trenches are usually close to one another. Trench warfare is resorted to when the superior firepower of the defense compels the opposing forces to “dig in” so extensively as to sacrifice their mobility in order to gain protection.
- Trench warfare
Trench warfare is warfare in which the opposing armies attack and counterattack from relatively permanent trench systems, constructed in close proximity to each other.
- Another overview of trench warfare
Another overview of trench warfare, from ABC-CLIO.
- Tunneling and Mining Operations
From ABC-CLIO, a summary of tunneling and mining operations under trenches during World War I.
- American Soldiers and Trench Warfare
An interesting article about getting to and living in a trench during World War I.
- American Soldiers and Life in the Trenches: World War I
Life in the trenches for American soldiers.
- Health and Medicine During WWI: Modern World
The carnage of World War I produced casualties in unprecedented numbers. The war also provided new challenges to the medical profession.
- Trench Foot
A disease of World War I due to life in the trenches.
- Trench fever
Another disease of World War I.
- A German Deserter’s Experience of Trench Warfare
Morale in the Trenches: The German Experience
- Alan Seeger on Trench Warfare
Alan Seeger, an American poet fighting in the trenches during World War I, wrote extensively in his diaries about his experiences.
- The Soldier’s Reaction to War
This passage of the Encyclopedia of World War I includes several passages from Siegfried Sassoon, an officer who fought in the trenches for three years.
- The Experience of Trench Warfare during World War I
Diary entries of soldiers in trenches during World War I.
- The Trenches: Symbols of Stalemate
From PBS, a great summary sheet with photos and videos, including quick facts.
- Life in the trenches
Daily life in the trenches.
- Library of Congress' photos of trenches in World War I
A series of photos owned by the Library of Congress showing trenches and people living in them.